• Jerusalem Spirits

  • Jerusalem Spirits

    For this series, Ronnie Niedermeyer visited and photographed places in Jerusalem that are considered holy by one or more of the three Abrahamic world religions: Judaism, Christianity and Islam. Furthermore, he interviewed and photographed people who live in Jerusalem and who feel a spiritual connection to the city: not only Muslims, Christians and Jews of various denominations, but also people without a religion. Attending ceremonies and rituals, including ones not open to the public, he has created a rich and encompassing tableau of the city’s spiritual life.

    A photobook is planned to appear in Jerusalem’s three official languages (English, Hebrew and Arabic), showcasing the singularity and beauty of local cultures while also highlighting their common ground.

    The following images represent a small preview of the series. A selection was shown at the Vienna gallery West46 in October 2014. In early 2015, the photographs were displayed at the Austrian Hospice in Jerusalem.

  • Jerusalem Spirits: Indian Catholics on the way to Gethsemane.

  • Jerusalem Spirits: Jewish house in the Muslim Quarter.

  • Jerusalem Spirits: Muslim cemetery in West Jerusalem.

  • Jerusalem Spirits: Jewish man with phylacteries.

  • Jerusalem Spirits: Armenian novitiates before Easter Mass.

  • Jerusalem Spirits: Ethiopian Christians on the roof of the Holy Sepulcher.

  • Jerusalem Spirits: Indian Shiites gaze at the Old City.

  • Jerusalem Spirits: Ukrainian nun.

• Der Geist von Jerusalem

  • Der Geist von Jerusalem

    Für diese Serie besuchte und fotografierte Ronnie Niedermeyer Orte dieser Stadt, die für eine oder mehrere der drei abrahamitischen Weltreligionen (Judentum, Christentum und Islam) als heilig gelten. Zudem interviewte und fotografierte er Menschen, die in Jerusalem leben und die eine spirituelle Beziehung zur Stadt haben: Nicht nur Moslems, Christen und Juden unterschiedlicher Strömungen, sondern auch Menschen ohne Religion. Mit dem Besuch von Zeremonien und Ritualen – auch welchen, die nicht öffentlich zugänglich sind – ging er einer anschaulichen und umfassenden Darstellung des geistlichen Lebens Jerusalems nach.

    Das geplante Fotobuch, welches in den drei offiziellen Sprachen Jerusalems (Englisch, Hebräisch und Arabisch) erscheinen soll, wird die Einzigartigkeit und Schönheit lokaler Kulturen zeigen und dabei ihre Gemeinsamkeiten betonen.

    Die folgenden Bilder zeigen eine kleine Vorschau der Serie. Eine Auswahl wurde Oktober 2014 in der Wiener Galerie West46 ausgestellt. Im Frühjahr 2015 waren die Fotografien im Österreichischen Hospiz in Jerusalem zu sehen.

  • Der Geist von Jerusalem: Indische Katholiken auf dem Weg nach Gethsemane.

  • Der Geist von Jerusalem: Jüdisches Haus im muslimischen Viertel.

  • Der Geist von Jerusalem: Muslimischer Friedhof in Westjerusalem.

  • Der Geist von Jerusalem: Jüdischer Mann mit Gebetsriemen.

  • Der Geist von Jerusalem: Armenische Novizen vor der Ostermesse.

  • Der Geist von Jerusalem: Äthiopische Christen auf dem Dach der Grabeskirche.

  • Der Geist von Jerusalem: Indische Schiiten blicken auf die Altstadt.

  • Der Geist von Jerusalem: Ukrainische Nonne.